Stamina

During the last 6 weeks, Wednesday is dedicated towards stamina. I started with a base workout I believed was possible to complete in 40 minutes or less with practice. The first time I did this I did it just over 56 minutes.

The base workout was simple:
Time starts-
Warm up of 1/2 mile run @ 3:30+/- 15 seconds

5 rounds
10 “Mr. Spectacular” (please go to http://www.mountainathlete.com in the “Exercises” tab to see the exercise) Each round, the reps drop by 2.
5 windshield wipers from the pull up bar
(Drop 1 rep per round)
500m Row on level 2 of the Concept 2 rower @ 2:14 x500m pace or better (drop 100m per round)
Run .2 miles after rowing every round ( it is 10 laps to the mile at our gym. At -20 degrees outside, its nice inside, and gives an even count)
Time stops after last lap on round 5

To clarify on the reps and distances per round, here they are again by exercise, per round. This is your workout for the first 2 weeks. Week 2, grind through it, keep it under an hour, but don’t worry about the timer.
“Mr Spectaculars” 10/8/6/4/2
Windshield wipers 5/4/3/2/1
Rower 500/400/300/200/100
Run .2 miles each round after rowing

Add a round each week for weeks 3 and 4, and increase the workload with extra reps and distances. At week 4 your rounds look like this-
“Mr Spectacular 14/12/10/8/6/4/2
Wipers 7/6/5/4/3/2/1
Rower 700/600/500/400/300/200/100
Run .2 each round after rowing

Let me tell you it adds up, and gets pretty tough. Week 5 I had to skip this workout due to work, and I suggest you do too. I did do 10 minutes of kettebell snatches that day, but I really needed the extra day of rest.

Week 6, go back to your original reps/distances, and time it again. The week 6 time I posted was 38 minutes. It still sucked, but my breaks were short, and I was able to string the exercises together faster though. My 500m time dropped to 1:46 each round, and I was able to sprint the first lap rounds 1-3.

This with the heavy loads of Monday and Friday really take it out of you, but I adapted, and so will you.

This stamina/ go forever workout combined with the mental game of the 20 rep squats have really delivered on the psychological side of training. Can’t wait to take this on again and see where I end up.

I am writing on the other two workouts for each week, and will post them soon. Till then I have several other articles ready to post.

Take care and good lifting,
Tim

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

