Week in the rear view

This has been a busy week, but enjoyable.

Monday, the wife and I left home for the 6 hour drive to Fairbanks to see my son’s high school graduation. It was awesome. He earned a scholarship, and with all the AP classes he had, he is well ahead of the game for college. Very proud of him.

We had to leave right after the graduation, and made it back home Wednesday morning at 2:30am. Four hours sleep, a 4.7 earthquake I nearly slept through, and it was off to work. Talked to the surgeon and I will wait to fix the hernia till after the highland games.

Workout wise, pretty good week as well. I hit alot of volume, and hefted some respectable weight in everything I had planned.
Below are three of the workouts I thought stood out.
Wednesday:
In the afternoon, I ran one of my remaining APFT failures through a pretty good hour long remedial PT session, focusing on core and upper body. Feeling warmed up after we were done, I went to hit my workout.

( one of the things I focused on with my troop was his posture. His shoulders are forward, and his slumped forward position is effecting all of his efforts.)

Box squats- 8 sets of 3 reps. I got a good 315 x3. When I tried 335, I failed and had to leave it on the pins. Just do not want to force the issue with my current injury. Will give it a shot next week. (this is the first time lifting this “heavy” in the last few weeks, and i loved it)
Finishing box squats, I moved into my Crossfit WOD attempt.
Crossfit workout:
What I didn’t see as much improvement on was with my time on the Crossfit WOD “Grace”.
135lb clean and jerk x 30 reps for time.

I sporadically throw in a WOD I find interesting from time to time, but they usually have something to do with what I am focusing on at the time. Since overhead work has become a focus of mine lately, I wanted to see how I would do compared to last time. This is the only WOD I have done more than once, and this was my second go at it. My last time was I think 8:15. This time, I took it a little easier, and focused on keeping good form, instead of racing the clock. My time on Wednesday afternoon was 6:31. Lots of room for improvement.

Thursday:
Did a real quick warm up of
30-25-20-15-10 of
135 bench press
28kg kb swings
Step ups on a 18″ box.

I got all sets unbroken, and a sip of water, and 30 seconds between exercises.
From here I was going to some stamina work, but since the gym is renovating, all the kettle bells I was looking for were in storage. I took it as a sign, and went and hit the heavy bag for 30 minutes. (really cutting loose on the heavy bag released alot of pent up frustration from work)

Friday:
This was going to be my first deadl lift workout in a while.
Warmed up with “the chain”, and every rep was strict. I have seen a huge improvement in my performance with this exercise having hit this more and more. 20lbs- 70lbs in 5 pound increments.

Crossfit workout #2 for the week:
“Diane”
21-15-9
225 dead lift
hand stand push upsEvery dead lift was a dead stop and no bouncing. The hand stand push ups were just a little short of touching my head to the ground each rep. Time: 7:56. Not the greatest, but it’ll improve. I really liked this one.

Finished the workout with:

  1. 3 rnds of 6 lunges each leg at 40lbs; and 3 one leg dead lifts at 28kg kb.
  2. 3 rnds of kettle bell floor press x 10; 3 clapping push ups; 3 uber strict pull ups

Overall a good week. I feel great, and can’t wait to hit a nice arm and grip workout today.

Till next time, take care and good lifting,

Tim

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

