Arm day

Arms and grip are a one day a week event, and have been now for the last 4-5 weeks. For along time, I quit doing arm only focused workouts, but when I did my first cycle of 20 rep squats, the program had curls in it and I got hooked again. Arms are a very addictive focus area with the evidence of their addictive power found in every gym across the world. I’ve had some good carry over effect from my weekly arm day, and decided to put it out in the open.

Even when I was younger, and my weight routine followed a bodybuilding style programming, I always followed arms with a compound lift or bodyweight exercise. Doing this I reasoned, would keep my body functioning as a unit instead of getting bound up as individual parts. For arm day I usually used either pull/chin ups, barbell rows, or clean and press. For the past few weeks it has been the pull up.

Below is my arm and grip workout.

  1. Warm up: 3×20 light grippers super setted with extensor work with rubber bands; 3×5 of the following three exercises back to back each arm- 1) hammer curls with 8lb sledgehammer, hammerhead to the front, held halfway down the handle, 2) sledgehammer curls with hammerhead to the rear, hand 3/4 of the way down the handle 3) hammer rotations side to side, holding the handle about 8″ from the hammerhead. Follow this with 3×15 each of wrist curls and reverse wrist curls with the forearm developer.
  2. Zottman curls- 10-8-6-4-2 with 45lb db’s. Superset these with Tricep push downs at 20 reps (on my machine I use about 100lbs. )
  3. Finished with 5×5 of pull/chin ups strict.

Following 5-10 minutes rest I hit the heavy grippers.

  1. 3 parallel close attempts with the “Super Master”
  2. 3 credit card attempts with a filed down #2
  3. 5 credit card closes with the #2
  4. 5reps of credit card closes with the #1 heavily filed down.

The gripper work listed is for my right hand. I follow the same report patterns for my left hand, but with only 2 fully functional fingers on the left hand, the gripper strengths stay at the #2, but mostly the #1 level.

I do this one weekend, and flip the schedule around and start with grippers the next weekend as the warm up. The rep scheme for the Zottman curls changes as well to 2-4-6-8-10.

Each week this has gotten easier to handle, and i am now getting all my closes with the #2 and #1 grippers. Yesterday was the first time i got closes with the Super Master ( a mid way gripper between a #2 and #3) and a close with the filed down #2. So progress is being made.

During the week, with my full workouts, I have been able to handle the weights longer, and have definitely seen carryover to all my other lifts. This continues to be a fun experiment, and the increased arm size has been ego soothing as well.

Till next time, take care and good lifting

Tim

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

