The full week of morning PT

Well it is finally the weekend and I thought I might do things a little different this post and layout what I had my guys do every morning for PT. Following each day are notes for what we had to modify to fit the needs and abilities of the individual, and thoughts on how the workout went.

This week I was especially glad I only have two additional workouts planned. I am still keeping up with my lower body and upper body focused workouts, and with the increased volume I am putting on my guys and gals in the morning, trying to do anymore would be pushing it to far. Wednesday I did my lower body focused workout, and i will post separately about that.

Here we go…

MONDAY
WARM UP 10 down to 5 of-
Squats
Burpees
Mountain climbers
Push ups

UPPER-
10 down to 1- pull ups
10 Plank walk ups between sets of pull ups

CORE- 4 rounds (all of our core work follows Military Athletes F,I,R,E planning. Flexion, Isometric, Rotation, Extention. Military Athlete has had the biggest impact on me in regards to how to set up a work out. Highly recommend their methods and workouts to everyone http://www.militaryathlete.com )

R- slasher to halo x 15
E- swings x 15
F- situps x 10
I- 10m waiter carry w/ 25lb db

CARDIO-
5 minutes of tire strikes with either the 10lb, or 8lb sledgehammer. (one off my stronger guys and I hit the tire with the 20lb hammer for 5 minutes, and then immediately used the 10lb for another 5 minutes )

LOWER- (I have several people who have upper body injuries, this replaced the hammer strikes for them)
10 walking lunges ea leg (or 20 step ups)
10 one leg Glute bridges per leg

Cool down and stretch

The warm up sucked a lot more than I thought it was going to. Wow, give it a shot, it really got the breathing going, and i recognized some of the looks on their faces that said the same thing.
Modifications:
For the warmup, push ups were replaced with sit ups, burpees with Deck squats. During the upper body portion, pull ups were either partner assisted, replaced with dumbell rowing or not done at all.
Each individual, when the next part of the workout, was given individual attention on what in the exercise was to be modified in order to stay as close to the original exercise as possible. Those with injuries that completely prohibited certain motions, we’re given new exercises to do in its place.

TUESDAY
WARM UP- 4 rounds
Step ups x30
Sit ups x10iv>Plyo push ups x5

CORE- 5 rounds
F- dip bar knee raises
I- :30sec plank
R- russian twists x10
E- stiff leg dl x10 with 24kg kettle bell

MAIN-
1/4 mile Burpee broad jumps

Cool down and stretch

Modifications: I only had two others and myself to run through PT today due to work requirements and appointments. The only modification he had to make with the main portion was in the broad jump piece. With his ankle being recently fused together, jumping is not an option. He would do a burpee as normal up to the part where he brings his feet back to the hands in preparation for the jump- at this moment he would merely stand up and then perform a single lunge and then a regular step forward. He alternated legs every burpee.

WEDNESDAY
WARM UP- 4 rounds
Dip shrugs x5
Plank shrugs x5
Straight arm pulls x5
1 leg bridges x10 ea leg
10 lunges or step ups

CORE- 5 rounds
E- swings x 10
F- sit ups x15
I- :30 sec plank
R- slasher x 10 ea side

MAIN-
10- 6- 2 minutes of tire to hammer
30- 50- 70 swings following each set

LOWER- (for those with upper body injuries) 4 rounds
10 walking lunges each leg
25 squats
15 single leg bridges per leg
15 situps

6 speed walk sprints ( I had them walk the length of the parking lot down and back as fast as possible. They did it in 51 seconds. Each of the successive laps had to be done in 49 seconds. If they failed to make the time, they had a penalty set of 10 lunges. They made time every set.)

Cool down and stretch

< div>10 minutes of sledgehammer strikes was the goal we set 12 weeks ago. Many of the guys that were there in the beginning have recovered from their injuries and gone back to regular PT and we’re not here to see the completion of the goal. I do have 2 guys with permanent injuries who completed the hammer strikes. One of them did all the sets this day with me, using the 20lb sledge. Very proud of them. Remembering back to the beginning and how the 8lb hammer used to kick our asses, doing it now with the 20lb is quite the motivator. Reps per minute for the 20lb were 34-36 the first few minutes, tapering down to 28-25 the final few minutes.

THURSDAY 
Warm up, and foot march with squad. 
Uniform boots, socks, camel back (with water)

Those who could walk, moved 5-6 miles with no load with their regular squads who were carrying 50-60 lb ruck sacks.

FRIDAY 
WARM UP- 4 rounds
15 push ups
15 mountain hops
15 squats

CORE- 4 rounds
F- atb x 5
I – 1 arm push up plank x :30 sec (saith arms every set)
R – slasher to halo x10
E- 1 leg bridges x15 ea leg

MAIN- 4 rounds
Push presses x max reps followed by max reps pull ups

LOWER- 4 rounds ( I had only one guy today who could not do upper body work. He was new to us, and got some lower body work)
50 step ups
25 butt to tire squats
15 Glute bridges with barbell shoulders on tire (95 or 135 lbs)

Cool down stretch

The push presses were loaded according ability. Some used only the bar, one used it loaded to 65 lbs, and the bigger or stronger guys used 90lbs. the bigger guy we have managed 52, 43, 38, 36 reps, but his pulling power was very low in comparison getting only 8 reps max on his pull ups. My long term guy, he managed 38, for his first set, but had a better balance of pulling doing 18 reps. I was pretty balanced completing 32, 25, 22, 18 with my pulling about even at 28, 22, 18, 16.  

This was a very upper and core focused week of work outs. Next week the focus shifts to lower body, and the following week a good balance of whole body work. 

As a side note, here are some of the injuries these individuals are recovering from-
Twisted ankles, groin pulls, muscular lower back injuries, dislocated shoulder, ankle bone fused, dislocated hip, hernia repair, and pulled hamstrings. Each session, the work planned is modified per individual with deference made to doctors recommendations, and the capabilities of the individual. Each of them are monitored by me, and adjustments are made whenever I see something is wrong. All the workouts are capable of self scaling as well with partners there to assist and spot. 

Till next time, take care and good lifting

Tim 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Excellent Tim!! I have been slacking really bad lately, going on two weeks with no workout. One of my kids has been having sleep issues…meaning, she doesn’t want to go to sleep. So, I haven’t been able to leave my house early enough to get it in. Hopefully it’s a short phase….hahaha. Keep up the hard work, I will have to live my workouts through you for now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

