Week in the rear view

This week was all about dragging ass, and just feeling wore down. It was just not a good week for feeling energized, and motivated. I don’t know what it was about this week, but at least it’s over with.

There were two workouts that do stand out this week.

Tuesday
I went to train knowing that SealFit had “Murph” as the workout for the day, but i had a hankering for a little bit more than just that. I haven’t been able to do the big three lifts in a while, and wanted to see what I could total before hitting a body weight only “Murph”. Here’s how it went.

  1. SQUATS- 8 sets of doubles working up in weight until I hit 275, then 3 singles working up to my max of 315 for the day. This was slightly depressing. When I mean 315 was the max, I mean it was a a true max. I was glad to just get it out of the hole, let alone stand erect with it. I have lost about 70 lbs on my max with squats over the weeks of SealFit. I know I can easily get this back with just some technical work, and time under the bar, but still a kick in the butt.
  2. BENCH- it took only 6 sets of singles to reach my max for the day of 285. No real loss here. I expected a good single at this weight in good form, and got it.
  3. DEADLIFT- 4 singles to reach my max for the day, and it was a rough pull of 405. I was hoping for 425, but i got over confident and made a bigger jump in weight to 405 than I should have. Oh well.

Directly following the last dead lift, I started the first 1 mile run to start “Murph”, and didn’t stop until I finished the last step of the final 1 mile run. I did not partition the exercises, and completed each in succession resting when needed. I hit a wall at about the 200th squat, and really had to work to get through the last 100. To my suprise, the last mile was much better than expected. All the work on running has def initely paid off.

For those not familiar with “Murph”, it is a Crossfit Hero WOD. It consists of-

  • 1 mile run
  • 100 pull ups
  • 200 push ups
  • 300 squats
  • 1 mile run.

To make it harder, you can add body armor or a 20lb weight vest.

When I looked at the work done for the day, I realized how the squat-bench-dead work complemented the WOD. Squat- Push- Pull, run, Pull- Push- Squat, run. Accidents happen I guess, but I will definitely use this combo again in the future.

Friday
This was what was on the schedule:

  1. WARM UP- 1 mile run, then 21-15-9 of 95lb “Curtis-P’s” (you can find the exercise demo here: http://www.mountainathlete.com/subpage_details.php?subpage_ID=267&page_ID=14 )
  2. STRENGTH – 5×5 of weighted pull ups with he heaviest weight possible for all 5 sets without dropping weight
  3. ENDURANCE – 30 minute ruck march with 35lb pack
  4. STAMINA – 100 pull ups, every time you drop off the bar, 20 push ups.

Due to time constraints for meetings, and other work items, I had to break it up into three sessions. This is what I did:

  1. I got thru the warm up in the morning ( I hate “Curtis-P’s” more than I hate thrusters)
  2. Strength session and Endurance during lunch- using 28kg KB for all five sets of pull ups, but instead of the ruck march I did a one mile run, and one mile of rowing back to back
  3. and finished the day in the garage with the Stamina work. I ended up completing in 8 rounds of pull ups and push ups.

Main take away from the week

My stride is much more comfortable now when running. My legs have a higher turnover and I can maintain a pace easier than I have been able to in a long time.
< br>
This coming week I have several time trial runs at various distances, and with my renewed confidence in running, I hope to see some real improvement, especially in my 2 mile run time. Hopefully the weather cooperates. We are supposed to get back into the negative temperature range starting Monday. Not fun.

Till next time, take care and good lifting

Tim

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

